Attention to Detail

2

Photo: Hand-Drawn By Yours Truly

For silent sustained reading in class, we were able to read Beth Johnson’s article  “Let’s Get Specific” in which she highlights the importance of utilizing vivid details in speech and text. She furthers her argument by showing examples of passages on the same topic either filled with vague details or ones more detail rich. Upon comparing the two passages, I was immediately drawn, as you would’ve guessed, to the passage rich in description. I, myself, take pride in the utilization of detail throughout life. Whether that be in the form of language as described in the article, or my favorite, art. You see, not only do I strive to speak coherently, I also try my best to always further my vocabulary and eloquence in speech and writing. Furthermore, I am able to connect this attention to detail to my art as well. It was not too long ago that I was drawing stick figures just like everyone else. But that wasn’t enough for me. I thought to myself, ‘hmm how could I make this stick look more like an actual person.’ It only took off from there. I feel like many people just do not know where to get started when trying to improve their language or artistic skills. The piece of advice I give to them is this: pay attention to the little things, the things that might not seem to matter alone, but when added together form a beautiful image. As you can see from the image above, it really isn’t anything more than a bunch of small lines criss-crossing over one another. Yet, if you take it as a whole, see the big picture, then it forms something truly unique.

2 thoughts on “Attention to Detail

Leave a Reply

