Complete Sentence. – Oct. 7

6342247835_2bdcb2b84b_oPhoto ©2011 by Reading In Public [CC-BY-ND-2.0]

After processing what I’d just read in The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros, I was intrigued by how short not only the chapters were, but also the sentences themselves. As a developing writer, I was jolted by this new form of unconventional (in my eyes) writing technique whereby both thoughts and dialogue were conveyed directly to the readers. There were no quotes or italics, just unedited thought process. As I mentioned in class, there were many sentences which seemed incomplete – some were just lists and others were only a couple words in length! Examples include “My great grandmother.” and “Baby cats, big cats, skinny cats, sick cats.” This possibly ties in with Cisneros’s lack of thought verbs in her writing. The persona of this story required her to portray the mind of a child. Therefore, perhaps what seemed like blatantly opening up to the audience or incomplete statements are just meant to replicate the often rushed and ever changing thought process of a small child. This is the first time I’ve seen writing like this and I look forward to studying it in order to emulate the smooth incorporating of thoughts and dialogue in my own works.

Leave a Reply

